Random Rambling rant Uncategorized

Why Don’t People Use Their Email Signatures?

This post falls under the heading of pet peeves. Here it is: It drives me crazy that people don’t use their email signatures. I’m talking about people who have email signatures set up but choose not to use them. What is up with that? I don’t have a clue.

At least once a week I will be looking for someone’s mailing address or phone number and will turn to their email, believing I’ll find it in their signature. 9 out of 10 times I’ll discover that there is no signature! So there’s no source for the information I need. Yesterday I was meeting with a client who was looking to me to recommend a firm with very specific digital expertise. I immediately had a firm in mind but needed their contact information – specifically a phone number. I pulled up my email from my contact at the digital firm and there was no email signature. No contact information. Not even their title at the firm (senior VP or whatever). The frustrating thing is that I know this individual has an email signature but rarely uses it. Believe it or not, this happened to me twice yesterday. Both times I was trying to make a referral and I had to work to get the information I needed.

Just to be clear, I don’t need cute quotes or philosophical statements in the email signature; I just want good data that I can use to reach you via various channels. Is that too much to ask?

It amazes me that marketing professionals at major healthcare organizations and consultancies send email with no signature and no privacy statement. We’re communicators! What could be more fundamental?

This is particularly important for those of us who work in healthcare. In my opinion, anyone who ever works with PHI (which includes patient stories and testimonials) should have a privacy statement or confidentiality notice as part of their email signature. It should be used on their work computer and their mobile device. Every one of my co-workers at Jennings has a confidentiality notice within their email signature. Here’s mine:

That’s my rant about email signatures? Do you share my frustration? Do you think it is silly? Let me know.

0 comments on “Why Don’t People Use Their Email Signatures?

Leave a Reply

