Random Rambling rant

Language Matters – Every Single Time

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 3.14.50 PMFor weeks now I’ve been meaning to write a blog post about a common use of language that drives me crazy. I’ve noticed that it has become commonplace for people to say “every single day” or “every single time” rather than “every day” or “every time.” I hear it every SINGLE day and it is annoying. The people uttering this phrase are my friends, colleagues and associates – smart people I respect. I would be a happier person if I could simply rise above my frustration, but I just don’t have it in me.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 5.23.25 PMInserting the word “single” does nothing to improve the communication or refine the point being made. Every day means EVERY day. That’s fairly precise. “Single” is just an extra word. Redundant. Unnecessary. I’m sure there’s someone out there who will argue that the word “single” adds punch to the expression. I disagree. All it adds is an extra word with two syllables. It actually slows you down.

As you can tell from the images above, this problem extends beyond common speech. The phrase is on Nike packaging (and ads), T-shirts, posters and book covers. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

My fear is that this “every single day” trend will soon rival the now all-too-common practice of using the word “so” to start every sentence. Have you noticed that one?

What drives you crazy (other than obnoxious blog posts)? Please share.

1 comment on “Language Matters – Every Single Time

  1. Hmm… I find myself guilty of this as well as using too many exclamation points. Thanks for sharing. I’ll add this to my list of New Year’s resolutions.

Leave a Reply

