Year In Review

My Year In Review

At the end of each year, I take some time to reflect on what has been accomplished over the last 12 months – by me and by my firm (Jennings). I find without taking stock of the prior year, the years simply fly by. It’s important to me to know that I am making progress – rather than simply churning through the months and years.

My Year In Review

Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 10.50.11 AMI started the year with a goal of cutting back on many of my extracurricular activities (speaking at conferences, writing articles for publications, blogging, etc) in favor of putting greater focus on the ongoing evolution of my firm and work/life balance.

For my firm, my efforts were going to be focused on the development of strategic partnerships/friendships/alliances, the opening of regional offices (one at a time), and the continuing evolution of our team. In the end, I’m only as good as the team of people around me.

Did I achieve my goals?

  • In August we successfully recruited Tim Brennan to join the Jennings Team. Tim would head up our New England operation. He was a great hire with big time experience at Tufts Medical Center and Mass General, to name a couple. Tim’s first assignment was to work with us to identify office space in Boston.
  • The big news: In September we opened our Boston office, located on Atlantic Avenue, adjacent to South Station. This step was long overdue!

Was I able to re-prioritize? Yes.

  • I went from having roughly 18 speaking engagements in 2014 to limiting myself to 7 or 8 engagements in 2015.
  • Another goal was to accept speaking engagements that put me in front of new audiences. That was accomplished by speaking at the Annual Conference of the National Association of Occupational Health Professionals and the National Conference on Next Generation Breast Center Excellence.
  • Dan Hinmon of Hive Strategies and I continued our webinar series in 2015. Dan is one of those strategic partners I mentioned earlier. I’m extremely proud of our relationship and the work we’ve done together.
  • In 2015, I contributed my usual 4 or 5 articles to industry publications (eHealthcare Strategy & Trends, Healthcare Marketing Report, Healthcare Strategy Alert). Most of my articles challenge the status quo in healthcare marketing and recommend an alternative course. I’m grateful to the editors who made me sound much smarter and more succinct than I really am.
  • This year I managed to produce around 120 blog posts – nearly one every three days. That is about half my usual production. My wife can no longer claim to be a “blog widow.”

Some odds and ends:

What I love about the information below is the variety of healthcare organizations we’ve worked with over the last year. And this is just a sampling of the organizations we worked with. This does not include our long time clients such as Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Signature Healthcare, Tufts Medical Center, Lawrence General Hospital, Vidant Health, Outer Banks Hospital, Lowell General Hospital, Southwestern Vermont Medical Center, Copley Hospital, and more.

  • January marked our first full month working with The Practical Playbook – an organization that facilitates collaboration between partners in public health and primary care with the goal of improving population health. This is an important initiative as we move into the world of population health management, and obviously an exciting one for my team to support and market. The Practical Playbook was founded through a collaboration of the de Beaumont Foundation, Duke Community and Family Medicine, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Our work for the Practical Playbook focused on developing a strategic marketing plan, social media and digital marketing. All of this happened in collaboration with our partners at PR Collaborative in Washington, DC.
  • In February we launched a new visual brand identity and website for WorldCare International. With its U.S. headquarters in Boston, WorldCare operates in more than 45 countries and covers millions of patients worldwide.
  • In February we began working with Adventist Health System in Portland, Oregon.
  • We recruited Angela Mascenik to join our team in March of 2015. Angela is a talented account executive who now works on variety of healthcare accounts including Dartmouth-Hitchcock, Southwestern Vermont Medical Center and Vidant Health.
  • In April we were retained by ParamountRx, a Pharamacy Benefits Manager (PBM), to develop a strategic marketing plan, along with a new visual brand identity and website.
  • The American Hospital Association released their Hospital Leadership Guide to Digital & Social Media Engagement in May. They notified us that my blog would be listed among their list of top social and digital media resources.
  • The winners of the national Aster Awards for healthcare marketing were announced in May. We learned that Jennings’ clients won a total of 24 awards; 10 Gold; 9 Silver; 5 Bronze – and our pediatric affiliation campaign for Floating Hospital for Children at Tufts Medical Center and Lowell General Hospital won a Judges Choice Award! The winning campaign is called “Just What Moms Ordered.” Ten healthcare organizations were represented by these 24 awards!
  • In May, our New England clients won a total of 31 Lamplighter Awards from the New England Society for Healthcare Communications.
  • My business partner, Paige Zinn, graduated from MIT’s Entrepreneurial Masters Program (EMP) in June – after three years of hard work!
  • In June, a HubSpot Article, “8 Brilliant Examples of Healthcare Marketing” – featured Floating Hospital for Children & Lowell General Hospital’s “Our Circle of Moms Online Community.” We are extremely proud of our work on this project.
  • We began working with Holy Redeemer Health System (Pennsylvania) in July. That month we also launched our brand elevation campaign for Lawrence General Hospital (Massachusetts).
  • In August we learned that Jennings’ clients won a total of 12 national Videographer Awards. Five different healthcare clients were award winners! That same month my blog was recognized with a Digital Health Award.
  • We launched a new website for Northwest Regional Heart & Vascular in September. NWRHV is part of Adventist Health. We went on to launch a second site in November, this one for their orthopedics institute.
  • In October we launched Reply Ob/Gyn‘s first clinic – a new model of Ob/Gyn care that we hope to see spread across the country.
  • We started out the month of October by launching an amazing new patient safety initiative at Signature Healthcare in southeastern Massachusetts.
  • Also in October, Jason Stepanek joined Jennings to head up our award winning video content division. He hit the ground running and is looking forward to a busy 2016.
  • And then we had the busiest November and December that I can remember. We had photo and video shoots for several clients. Our staff was spread out across the country.

I’m sure I left out all kinds of important details, but it was fun for me to look back at the year and put this summary together. By the end of the year I find that it is all a blur. Putting together this kind of summary certainly helps one appreciate all that actually happened in the prior year. For me, that’s a motivator as I push forward into 2016.

Happy New Year.

1 comment on “My Year In Review

  1. It’s a good habit and i think it can make you aware also that which are things that you should pay attention to work in a better way.

Leave a Reply

