Random Rambling

10 Sure Signs That I’m Aging

As I prepare for 2016, things keep happening that serve to remind me that I’m not as young as I used to be. It’s just a fact of life, but I do find humor in these little reminders. Here are a few of that come to mind:

You know you’re getting older when you….

  1. … meet young professionals at a conference and they consistently call you “sir.”
  2. … still buy a paper daytimer/calendar each year to keep track of appointments. (In the spirit of full disclosure, I also keep an electronic calendar.)
  3. … buy the “large print” edition of the daytimer.
  4. … use the flashlight app on your iPhone to read menus in dimly lit restaurants.
  5. … find that your favorite blog is called Boomer Haiku.
  6. … find that your employees’ parents are younger than you are.
  7. … look in the mirror and see an image of your father staring back at you.
  8. … call it a night at 10pm, leaving your friends and colleagues at the bar to carry on without you. (This happens to me now frequently at conferences.)
  9. … need a day to recover after taking a red eye flight home from the west coast.
  10. … no longer prefer those quaint and charming boutique hotels or B&Bs for business travel and opt for modern comforts of a Marriott or Hilton property. Another related sign of aging is the amount of stuff I now cram into my shaving kit when I travel: Vitamins, Emergen-C, Advil, Antihistamines and Antacids, along with assorted lotions and potions to keep me going strong!

What signs of aging have you noticed? I know I’m not alone in this experience.

3 comments on “10 Sure Signs That I’m Aging

  1. Am sure you are still very young at heart Dan 😉

Leave a Reply

