Business Travel

Homeward Bound

I’ve always loved the song “Homeward Bound” by Simon and Garfunkel. Truth is, I’ve always liked Simon and Garfunkel’s music. I’m sure that dates me. But Homeward Bound resonates because it is about a musician/performer going through the motions on the road while longing to be home.

“And each town looks the same to me, the movies and the factories,
And ev’ry stranger’s face I see reminds me that I long to be,
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought’s escaping,
Home where my music’s playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me.”

(Lyrics by Paul Simon)

The song resonates most on a dreary, rainy fall day like today.

If you’ve ever traveled a lot on business, you probably know why I relate to these lyrics. Yesterday I had my last scheduled speaking engagement of the year. It was a great experience. I love these speaking engagements and enjoy having an excuse to visit cities like Chicago, Phoenix, Orlando, Boston, and Portland, Oregon.

Presenting in Chicago yesterday
Presenting in Chicago yesterday

The best part of travel is the people. Every time I travel, whether it is for client business, a consulting assignment or a speaking engagement, I am connecting with remarkable people. Many of these people have become close friends over the years. Yesterday, while in Chicago, I was spending time with good friends and smart people including Suzanne Hendery of Baystate Health, Karen Corrigan of Corrigan Partners and Anissa Davenport of Vidant Health. These are really bright and generous healthcare marketers. In many ways, we were envisioning the future of healthcare marketing. It was a day for learning and sharing. That is priceless.

But there is nothing like coming home and resting. Autumn is my favorite time of year. It’s a time when I long to be in the mountains, chilling out and reconnecting with rhythms of life that have nothing to do with business, hotels or airplanes. Late Autumn is a natural time for slowing down and reflection. That sounds good to me.

So next week I am taking five straight days of vacation. It couldn’t come at a better time. I plan to immerse myself in Autumn – and I won’t be getting on an airplane if I can help it.

2 comments on “Homeward Bound

  1. Dan, thank you, thank you for being part of our gathering yesterday in Chicago. You did a terrific job, as usual, in sharing knowledge on leading edge practices in marketing – and stimulated great discussion that lasted well into the evening. Going home is always the best part of any trip – enjoy and have fun on your vacation.

  2. Thanks Karen. It was wonderful seeing you, Carla, Brian and Lisa. The setting was amazing and the conversation was stimulating. I am grateful for our friendship.

Leave a Reply

