Business Travel Random Rambling

Don’t Try This At Home

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 7.23.39 PMThis week I learned something important about rental cars. My business trip for the week started on Sunday when I left home and flew up to Boston. Once I arrived in Boston, I headed to Enterprise (something I do almost every week in one city or another) and picked up my rental car for the week. Then I drive to the outskirts of Boston, where most of my meetings would take place.

It turned out that I needed to travel to Philadelphia on Tuesday morning for a creative presentation. I would only be gone for 12 hours, and it was cheaper just to keep my rental car in Boston. Heck, I would be back there by 8pm that evening.

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 7.21.15 PMSo I left my rental car at my hotel and took the shuttle to the airport (the shuttle is free and parking at the airport is not). When I got to Philadelphia to pick up my new Enterprise car (#2), the nice woman behind the counter informed me that I already had one of their cars rented (in Boston) and their computer system won’t let a customer have two cars rented at one time – at least not under one driver’s license. That was new information. Their computer system lets you reserve two cars at the same time. Fortunately for me I had met our associate creative director, Rob, at the rental car facility, and he was able to step in and officially rent the car. We didn’t miss a beat. (By the way, did you know that they give out free soft pretzels at the Philadelphia Airport Enterprise location! My co-workers smuggled several of them back into North Carolina on their return trip. You’d think they never saw a pretzel before.)

IMG_1614I thought I was a pretty seasoned business traveler. This quick trip to Philly taught me a valuable lesson about juggling rental cars. I also learned that not all cheese steak places are created equal! Steve, our lead copywriter, decided that we had to have cheese steaks while we were in Philly. He looked online and selected Steve’s Prince of Steaks – evidently it was ranked as one of the top 10 cheese steak places in the city. It was okay. Nothing to write home about. And did I mention that I don’t eat steak? Yeah. (I had a chicken philly with cheese and onions.) Together, we learned not to trust online restaurant rankings. A good lesson for a bunch of marketing guys! So much for my day trip to Philly.

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 7.13.01 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 7.12.44 PM

IMG_1610

0 comments on “Don’t Try This At Home

Leave a Reply

