Physician Relations Referring Physicians

Heading to the AAPL 2015 Conference

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 4.39.39 PM

I want to start out this post by saying that physician relations/referring physician marketing is perhaps the most neglected area within healthcare marketing and yet promises the largest return on investment. Organizations throw money at consumer advertising while short changing their investment in communicating with referring physicians. For the last several years I have been on a rant about our industry’s failings in the area of physician relations. Here’s a link to one of my blog posts, Digital Physician Relations: Moving Beyond a Model of Interruption, where I explore the subject and share a video where I present my views to an audience of physician liaisons.

A year ago I had the honor of being a keynote speaker at the annual conference of the American Association of Physician Liaisons (AAPL) in Seattle. I shared my “Digital Physician Relations” presentation – one I developed together with Lyle Green at MD Anderson. I can remember very clearly being the late afternoon keynote speaker who was standing between conference attendees and the cocktail reception! Nonetheless, the presentation was well received and that attendees were gracious.

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 4.39.17 PMThis year the AAPL conference is being held in Charlotte, NC. I had such a positive experience at last year’s conference, that I decided to have my company exhibit at this year’s show. So this Wednesday, Thursday and Friday you will find myself and a representative of Jennings (Mike Dowd) manning our trade show booth at the AAPL Conference.

It should be a great conference and I hope to see you there. Several of my firm’s clients are sending their physician liaisons, so it will be fun reconnecting with them. If you see us at the show, please come up and say hello.

0 comments on “Heading to the AAPL 2015 Conference

Leave a Reply

