Articles Community Building Online Communities patient communities

Healthcare Marketing as Community Building

Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 11.30.03 AMEach year, Richard Cohen of Healthcare Marketing Report asks me to write a Point of View piece (POV) for his publication. This is a great opportunity for me to share my thinking on the state of healthcare marketing and my vision for the future. Richard is very kind to give me that opportunity. (As an aside, one of the many things I like about Richard is that he is a pizza connoisseur. Although I am not a connoisseur, I am an avid pizza lover. So we have that in common.)

My latest POV piece appears in the May issue of Healthcare Marketing Report. I just received my copy yesterday and shared it with my team. To give you a small taste of the article, here’s an excerpt from the first paragraph:

“Healthcare marketing is facing a crisis of relevance. For marketing to be relevant, it needs to be of value to those receiving the communication. When hospitals, medical centers and health systems promote their services, technologies and procedures, they largely miss the mark. While healthcare communicators spew content in the hope that someone will pay attention, consumers turn the other way. Why wouldn’t they turn away? We are largely talking about ourselves, looking inward, and that just isn’t interesting.” (Healthcare Marketing Report, Volume 33, Number 5, May 2015)

I invite you to check out the latest issue of Healthcare Marketing Report (HMR). You’ll find my article beginning on page 17. And if you don’t subscribe to HMR, I recommend looking into it.

0 comments on “Healthcare Marketing as Community Building

Leave a Reply

