Random Rambling

A Great Start to 2014

SilvertechFrom a business perspective, this year has gotten off to an amazing start. On Tuesday I had my first delayed flight of the year (certainly not my last) as I traveled through Philadelphia on my way up to Manchester, New Hampshire. My friend Michelle Perron had invited me to speak at a meeting of the New Hampshire Medical Group Management Association. So, Wednesday morning I introduced a group of representatives from various medical practices and hospitals to my thoughts on the use of social media and digital platforms to market medical practices. It seemed to be well received, although several people in the room looked like deer stuck in headlights. I may have overwhelmed them. With that, I got my first speaking engagement of the year out of the way.

That afternoon, while still in Manchester, I took the opportunity to visit the guys at SilverTech. They are terrific web developers and I have enjoyed getting to know them over the last year. My client, Nick Zaharias at Lawrence General Hospital, introduced me to them and we instantly hit it off. That evening I headed back to Boston for a business dinner at one of my favorite Italian restaurants. I had this amazing pasta with artichoke hearts, capers, cherry tomatoes, garlic and olive oil. And the conversation over dinner was as good as the food!

AliciaStaleyphotoThen on Thursday morning, I had a coffee meeting in Boston with my friend Alicia Staley (@stales), also known as the Awesome Cancer Survivor. I’ve known Alicia for about 7 years but we’ve never met in person (IRL). We talk on Twitter and Facebook all the time and have a mutual love for Tufts Medical Center. I’m so excited that Alicia and I are working on an ePatient panel for the spring NESHCo conference. Without Alicia’s expertise in this area, I would be lost. She is a huge patient advocate and an epatient herself. At the conference in May, people will be amazed when they hear her story. Thursday we met to discuss our plans for the panel and to brainstorm ideas for additional panelists. So far we have Amir Lewkowicz of Inspire.com joining us. Amir is one of the co-founders of Inspire.com. Inspire is an organization that connects patients, families, friends, caregivers and health professionals for health and wellness support through the use of online communities. With Amir and Alicia, we’ve already got an amazing panel.

After my morning meeting with Alicia I connected with one of my colleagues, Bruce Wlach, and we had lunch at one of my favorite haunts, Legal Seafoods. Nothing like a little Lobster bisque and a Lobster Roll to start the year off right!Legal seafood

After lunch we headed north to Lawrence, Massachusetts to visit Lawrence General Hospital. That evening we hosted a dinner for eight new bloggers who will be writing for the Moms, Dads & Docs Blog – a collaboration of Lawrence General and Floating Hospital for Children at Tufts Medical Center. The bloggers were just selected through an online contest that we managed. At the dinner we had eight bloggers, some of their spouses, and a bunch of their children. It was a ton of fun. My job was to welcome them, given them the ground rules for blogging, and teach them how to support one another as we launch the blog. Initially there are no readers, and it is up to this small group of bloggers to come together and support one another. That means commenting on one another’s posts, sharing links to each post on their Facebook pages, and Tweeting about each post. Having done these blogger events in the past, I’ve learned a lot about how quickly the group will form into a community. It is a fascinating process to watch. Below are a couple of photos from the event:

Vanessa HaleSnake

kidsphoto

momsphoto

So, that was my start to the new year. What a start! I love my job and I’m so fortunate to do what I do. Now if I can just find a few new clients to take us into 2015!

1 comment on “A Great Start to 2014

  1. Sounds like you’re getting off to a great start in 2014! I love the pictures from the blogger dinner. Davis says, “Look mom, I’m famous!”

Leave a Reply

