Books

Four Healthcare Related Books Waiting To Be Read

Every once in a while my stack of books waiting to be read gets out of control. That is the case at this moment. I’ve got four books just sitting there waiting for me to find the time to read them.

photo

The one I’m most excited about is Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink. I heard her interviewed on NPR and immediately ordered the book (three weeks ago). It is the story of how doctors and nurses reacted during the Hurricane Katrina crisis and its aftermath. A number of the patients who appeared to be unlikely to survive the crisis were injected with lethal combinations of drugs that ended their lives prematurely. This promises to be an amazing look at medical ethics. I’ve started reading it and the story is so compelling and tragic. I can’t wait to really dive in.

My friend Michelle Perron sent me a copy of Dr. Kevin Pho’s book, Establishing, Managing, and Protecting Your Online Reputation: A Social Media Guide for Physicians and Medical Practices. This looks like another great book.

I just received Harry Selker’s book, The Affordable Care Act as a National Experiment: Health Policy Innovations and Lessons. My friend Tim Brennan turned me on to this text. It was edited by Harry P. Selker, MD, MSPH, who works at the Tufts Clinical and Translational Science Institute, Tufts University, Boston, and June Wasser, MS, of Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston.

The final book, one that has been sitting on my bedside table for months, is The Decision Tree: Taking Control of Your Health in the New Era of Personalized Medicine by Thomas Goetz. It looks like a timely text, but I haven’t made the time to read it! That time will come…

What’s on your reading list? Tell me about all the good healthcare related books that I ought to add to my list.

1 comment on “Four Healthcare Related Books Waiting To Be Read

  1. I heard the story with Sheri Fink on NPR, too, and I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to read her book.

Leave a Reply

