Random Rambling Wow!

Post #1,000: The Healthcare Marketer Blog

DanAvatarmeezHeadshot100x100Welcome to blog post #1,000 on the Healthcare Marketer Blog. When I started blogging in 2007 I wasn’t sure if I’d get to post number 100, not to mention 1,000. I was just looking to learn more about blogging platforms and to share healthcare marketing information with industry colleagues. Now, six years later, my wife claims to be a blog widow and I have this unexplainable compulsion to blog.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve thought about whether or not to celebrate my 1,000th blog post. It’s an odd thing because there isn’t a team of people who makes this blog happen – or who chip in to write the posts each week. Most things I do professionally are part of a team effort; but not this blog. For better or worse, it is primarily me. (Although I do owe a shout out to my coworkers and colleagues who feed me a steady stream of ideas for blog posts. I’ve also had a couple interns who helped me out along the way.) So, taking the crew at Jennings (my firm) out for drinks to celebrate my 1,000 blog post just doesn’t seem appropriate. “Come help me celebrate my achievement!” I’d rather take them out to celebrate one of their many achievements.

On the other hand, if Starbucks can celebrate the 10th anniversary of their Pumpkin Spice Latte with a full page ad in the Wall Street Journal, my blogging milestone is certainly celebration worthy.

Screen Shot 2013-09-16 at 7.49.18 AM

Screen Shot 2013-09-16 at 7.49.57 AM

The surprising thing isn’t that I’ve managed to write 1,000 blog posts; rather, it is surprising to me that this blog has been able to attract readers! For that, I am grateful and humbled. If there hadn’t been an audience, I never would have made it this far. Yes, there are peaks and valleys in my passion for this blog. Some days I just can’t imagine writing another post. Lately it has been challenging because blogging competes with my need for time to finish my book – a task that never seems to have an end.

Over the years I have come to love blogging, which , for me, is synonymous with sharing. My philosophy from day one has been to share what I learn. I am grateful for those of you who have reciprocated through your comments. One of the side benefits of maintaining this blog has been the number of amazing people it has allowed me to meet over the years. Many of them are now friends.

What’s next? Change is in the air. The future of healthcare marketing is sure to be different from the present. As a reader of this blog, you are most likely aware that I have opinions about the direction healthcare marketing should take. Whether or not my prognostications are right, I look forward to taking this journey with you and continuing to share along the way.

Thanks for joining me.

#1,000

5 comments on “Post #1,000: The Healthcare Marketer Blog

  1. Congrats on this milestone, Dan!

  2. Tim Brennan

    Happy 1,000th Dan! Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks Tim! Much appreciated. We can celebrate over a drink the next time I’m in town.
      Dan

  3. Congrats, Dan. I admire the consistency and quality. I know, for me, one of the most difficult things is finding time to balance my client work with my blogging. You make it look easy!

Leave a Reply

