Speaking Engagements

Speaking Friday at NC Philanthropy Conference

AFPNCCONFThis Friday I will be speaking at the NC Philanthropy Conference in Concord, NC. I’ll serve on a panel at 8:30am and then will teach a Master Class at 10am. I’m honored that they invited me to speak. This is particularly meaningful to me because I come from a family of fundraisers and development professionals. My uncle, David Dunlop, spent his entire career as a development officer for Cornell University and became a thought leader within the fundraising profession. He created and directed Cornell’s major gift program, the first to use what has become known as “Moves Management.” From 1990 to 1995, he served on the senior management team of the Cornell Campaign that set a record for college and university campaigns, receiving over $1.5 billion in gifts. At the CASE International Assembly in Toronto on July 13, 2000, Dave was presented the Frank L. Ashmore Award for his service to the advancement profession and to CASE. Meanwhile my dad, Jake Dunlop, was a pioneer in public television and closed out his career by developing the UNC Center for Public Television. Throughout his career he was the consummate relationship builder and fundraiser. I can remember being on family trips and my dad would take every spare moment to hand write thank you notes to donors and volunteers. And finally, my wife, Scotti Harwood, is a seasoned development professional and marketer. She is a Certified Fundraising Executive (CFRE)  and most recently served as the Director of Development for the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University.

Speaking at the NC Philanthropy Conference is a special opportunity. I am honored to have this opportunity to share my learning and experience with these fundraising professionals, and I hope to learn from them. The focus of my presentation will be the use of social media and the importance of online community building in fundraising. We’ll see how it goes!

1 comment on “Speaking Friday at NC Philanthropy Conference

Leave a Reply

