Random Rambling rant Twitter

Twitter Profile Health Check-Up

Screen Shot 2013-05-16 at 3.29.47 PMEvery week I get a Twitter Stats report that is automatically generated from TwitterCounter.com. It gives me my total number of Twitter followers, the number of followers I’ve gained this week, and a prediction for next week. It is a harmless little report – a quick snapshot.

This week, below the basic stats, was a green button inviting me to do a Twitter profile health check-up. I’m the curious type, always seeing what’s out there, so I clicked on the button. Sure enough, it took me to a screen where TwitterCounter performed an analysis of my “Twitter health.” First it looked at my personal information to make sure that was complete. Then it analyzed my Twitter Performance. Get this: It gave me a miserable rating on “Followers vs. Following” because I follow too many people. I’ve got 3,100 followers and I follow roughly 3,100 people. According to TwitterCounter, “That’s bad.” Overall, I got an A+ on the Twitter Health Check-Up, but you need to know that it is a load of crap. Pardon my language. I’ve placed some screen shots of my health check below. Their advice to me included: “Unfollow some people” and “make sure you don’t overshare.” They went on to encourage me to “Try to have more people follow you than you have followers.” Brilliant. At least I know that my world Twitter ranking is #1,971,839. Sweet.

I like TwitterCounter for basic stats and a longitudinal view of Twitter stats. But their perspective on Twitter is about gamesmanship, not about building community and sharing information. For me, this was unexpected and disappointing. Another interesting point: I took the profile health check-up twice within 10 minutes of each other. The first time I got an A+ and the second time I got a B. They must have known I was going to write this post!

Screen Shot 2013-05-16 at 2.58.35 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-16 at 2.53.58 PM

Then I was downgraded to a “B”.

Screen Shot 2013-05-16 at 3.39.11 PM

1 comment on “Twitter Profile Health Check-Up

Leave a Reply

