Uncategorized

Today is National Doughnut Day

What kind of a healthcare marketing blog would this be if I didn’t pause to recognize national doughnut day? Whether it is Krispy Kreme or Dunkin Donuts, I’m a fan. How I love to indulge. I’m also at a point in my life where I gain weight just looking at a donut, so I try to moderate my indulgences. But when National Doughnut Day strikes, I take time to acknowledge this cultural icon. (It is worth noting that a single Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnut is only 200 calories. If you’re doing Weight Watchers, I believe it is worth 7 points. Of course, the challenge is stopping at just one doughnut.)

“Between the optimist and the pessimist, the difference is droll. The optimist sees the doughnut; the pessimist the hole!” ~ Oscar Wilde

I am an optimist; I see the doughnut.

My introduction to donuts was the Dunkin Donuts franchise in Essex Junction, Vermont, which my family visited occasionally when I was a kid. When I was a poor college student attending the University of Vermont, my girlfriend Nancy worked at Dunkin Donuts and at closing time would give me dozens of the day old donuts. My roommates and I were eternally grateful. My three favorite donut varieties were the Apple & Spice, Boston Creme, and Pistachio. It takes a ton of ingredients to make a donut that tastes so good. Just look at the ingredients and nutritional information below:


Of course, like many of you, I still remember the old Dunkin Donuts TV commercials featuring Fred the Baker. Here’s one of those classic commercials:

To be fair and balanced, here’s a look at Krispy Kreme that makes my mouth water:

Most people who know me, understand that I am a huge Batman fan. I take solace in knowing the even the Dark Knight hangs out in donut shops! Any thoughts about what variety of donut he prefers?

Finally, even the Swedish Chef explored the mysteries and wonders of the donut in an episode of the Muppets. Check out his unique style of donut making. He answers the existential question: How do you create the hole in the donut?

Enjoy the day (in moderation)!

1 comment on “Today is National Doughnut Day

  1. Ashley Andrews

    I love the video of the Swedish Chef making the doughnuts – it brings back lots of memories watching the Muppet Show with my dad ; )

    Thanks for the doughnut!

Leave a Reply

