healthcare conference marketing conference Marketing Conferences

Healthcare Marketing, Fenway Park and NESHCo

Last night kicked off the 2012 Spring Symposium of the New England Society for Healthcare Communications (NESHCo). This conference is a dream come true for me. It combines so many of my favorite things: Boston, the Red Sox and Fenway Park, Lobster, the Marriott Long Wharf, and NESHCo. It doesn’t get any better than this.

Last night’s welcome event was an outing and dinner at Fenway Park in Boston, home of the Red Sox. I grew up in New England, a hard core Boston Red Sox fan. Carl Yastrzemski was my childhood hero. Yaz played 23 years with the Boston Red Sox. He’s a member of the Baseball Hall of Fame, elected in 1989. Yaz was selected to 17 All Star Games, won 7 Gold Gloves, achieved 3,419 Hits and 452 Home Runs and was the last player to win the Triple Crown which he did in 1967.

As a kid, I had a Yaz poster on my wall. The poster was produced by the American Cancer Society and said “I don’t smoke cigarettes.” One of the seminal moments in my young life was meeting Yaz at a promotion put on by a local car dealer in Burlington, Vermont, and seeing Yaz sneaking a cigarette behind the dealership. It broke my heart.

Here are some photos from the event at Fenway Park. Enjoy!







1 comment on “Healthcare Marketing, Fenway Park and NESHCo

  1. Even when the Sox are having a bad year, it’s always worth a visit to Fenway. Wish I’d been there with you.

Leave a Reply

