Crowd Sourcing Trends Web 2.0

eHealthcare Strategy & Trends: March 2012

(File this post under shameless self-promotion.) One of the people I enjoy connecting with when I attend healthcare marketing conferences is Michele von Dambrowski, publisher of eHealthcare Strategy & Trends. I’ve known Michele for a number of years and she has graciously attended several of my presentations. Recently, Michele and her editor, Mark Gothberg, approached me about writing an article for eHealthcare Strategy & Trends.  The topic they wanted me to cover was “crowdsourcing among hospitals and health plans.” I’ve been intrigued by crowdsourcing and jumped at the opportunity. My article is included in the March 2012 issue of the publication.

As part of my research for the article, I was fortunate to interview Lee Aase, Director of Mayo Clinic’s Center for Social Media, Miles Appel, Director of Internal Web Capability for Kaiser Permanente, and Andrew Keen, author of The Cult of the Amateur. (If you aren’t familiar with Andrew Keen, you should definitely check him out. He is a fascinating individual.) Even better, bear in mind that this is an article about crowdsourcing in healthcare, I was able to integrate a quote from Alexander Hamilton, one of the political philosophers whose thinking informed the development of our form of government. In the end, it was a lot of fun researching and writing this article. Organizations like Mayo Clinic, Kaiser Permanente, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina, and the Harvard Clinical and Translational Science Center are innovating through the use of crowdsourcing programs.  I definitely invite you to learn more about crowdsourcing in healthcare, and , if you have time, to read the article. If you don’t subscribe to eHealthcare Strategy & Trends, you can learn more about the publication by clicking here.

2 comments on “eHealthcare Strategy & Trends: March 2012

Leave a Reply

