Books

Books On My Bedside Table Waiting To Be Read

The books are starting to pile up on my bedside table. January was such an intense month that I wasn’t able to keep up with my reading or my writing. I didn’t get any work done on my book, I’ve got an article due to eHealthcare Strategy & Trends that I have to finish today, and there are at least three books that I’d like to read but haven’t gotten to.

The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer – This book, written by Siddhartha Mukherjee, was recommended to me by an oncologist at the Levine Cancer Institute of Carolinas HealthCare System. The author is a cancer physician and researcher. He is an assistant professor of medicine at Columbia University and a staff physician at Columbia University Medical Center. According to the write-up for the book, “it is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer – from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence.” This is at the top of my reading list.

The Creative Destruction of Medicine: How the Digital Revolution Will Create Better Health Care – Author Eric Topol, M.D. argues that radical innovation and a true democratization of medical care are within reach, but only if consumers force the issue. Consumers are in the position to force medicine to undergo its biggest shakeup in history. This looks like an amazing book and I can’t wait to learn from Dr. Topol.

Healthcare Reform: What It Is, Why It’s Necessary, How It Works  (Graphic Novel) – This comic book-style introduction to the issues surrounding health care reform, is written by Jonathan Gruber (highly respected economist) and illustrated by Nathan Schreiber. If you’d like to know more, you can reference an earlier post I wrote about this book by clicking on this link (“Can a Comic book Make Healthcare Reform More Palatable or Understandable?”).

Each of these books is available online through Amazon.com.

0 comments on “Books On My Bedside Table Waiting To Be Read

Leave a Reply

