Year In Review

My 2011 Year In Review

At the end of each year I take stock of what I’ve achieved over that last 12-months. For me, it is the business equivalent of taking time to smell the roses. I don’t want to let a year go by without celebrating the victories and assessing the missed opportunities. Each of us spends too much time at our professional life to approach it in anything less than a thoughtful and reflective manner. If you don’t do this for yourself (and your business), I highly recommend that you give a shot. That said, here’s my review of 2011.

First, here’s where I fell short of my goals for the year:

  • One of my big goals for the year was to finish the book I’m writing about healthcare marketing. That didn’t happen. I’m now on track to finish it in June 2012.
  • Every year one of my goals is to speak at the annual SHSMD conference> I’ve been fortunate to speak at the last three or four in a row. For whatever reason, it didn’t happen this year. Rather than speak at the conference, I led a roundtable discussion and moderated a breakout session. I made the most of it and ended up having a terrific experience.
  • I seriously neglected my general branding blog (Brand Expeditions) in favor of putting my energy into my healthcare marketing blog. In 2012 I need to figure out what’s to become of my Brand Expeditions blog. It is not cool to just let it languish.
  • I also neglected my personal health and wellness in 2012. No excuses. I just didn’t do it. That has to change in 2012. At a minimum I need to eat better and exercise regularly. My daughter says that I say that every year. She’s probably right.

Here are some of the milestones from 2011:

    • My year kicked off with a bang in January when the Joint Commission published an article I co-authored with a group of clinicians from Tufts Medical Center in Boston. The article, “A Multifaceted Approach to Education, Observation, and Feedback in a Successful Hand Hygiene Campaign,” was published in the Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety, January 2011, Volume 37, Issue 1. That seems like a very long time ago!
    • Although I didn’t speak at the SHSMD conference, I did speak at a number of other conferences including the National Healthcare Marketing Strategies Summit, The Northeast Physician Recruiter Association Fall Conference, and The New England Society for Healthcare Communications Fall Conference. I led a webinar for Progressive Healthcare Conferences and was invited to moderate a webinar for the Forum for Healthcare Strategists.
    • My clients at Lexington Medical Center in West Columbia, SC, won the national Pink Glove Dance Video Competition. That was very exciting and could not have been more well deserved!
    • 2011 was a good year for my blog. In all, I wrote more than 190 blog posts. More importantly, my blog was successful in engaging readers, receiving more than 330 comments.

  • In 2011 I had more visitors to my Blog (The Healthcare Marketer) than I had in the prior three years combined. That’s exciting and rewarding to see. Momentum is a good thing.
  • I contributed a chapter to Brian Bierbaum’s new book, The Thought Leaders Project: Hospital Marketing.  My chapter is titled “The Evolution & Future State of Branded Service Line Marketing.”  The book is available through Amazon.com and was published in October 2011. My thanks to Brian for including me in this collaboration.
  • Again this year I was invited to judge the Web Health Awards and the National Health Information Awards. It is always an honor to sit on the judging panels for these awards competitions.
  • One of the highlights of my year, certainly a time when I had a lot of fun, was being a guest on Chris Bevolo’s Arrogant Healthcare Marketing Bastards podcast, recorded on location at the SHSMD conference in Phoenix. I’m a huge fan of the podcast so it was a special treat for me to sit around the table and rant with my friends Chris Boyer, Chris Bevolo and the team from Interval.
  • Another highlight was attending the Mayo Ragan Healthcare Social Media Conference in Rochester, Minnesota. Not only did I get to connect with so many of my healthcare social media colleagues, but I also toured Mayo Clinic which was something very special.
  • In addition to writing my occasional column for Healthcare Marketing Advisor (a HealthLeaders publication), I contributed articles to a number of publications including Healthcare Marketing Report and Healthcare Strategy Alert. My firm and its work were featured in articles in eHealthcare Strategy & Trends, the Las Vegas Review-Journal, Marketing Healthcare Today, and Healthcare Marketing Advisor.
  • My firm was also recognized with 13 Healthcare Advertising Awards, 19 Aster Awards, 11 Lamplighter Awards (NESHCo) and a number of other Wallie Awards, Addy Awards, Web Health Awards, Service Industry Advertising Awards, MarCom Award and a Hermes Award.
  • It was particularly rewarding in 2011 to see our hospital social media work receive so much recognition. In May 2011, my firm (Jennings) won a Gold Lamplighter Award for its social media campaign promoting the affiliation between Lowell General Hospital and Tufts Medical Center in Massachusetts. The cornerstone of that campaign is the Merrimack Valley Moms blog which has received a great deal of attention. That same campaign received a Silver National Healthcare Advertising Award and a National Web Health Award. Additionally, Jennings’ social media campaign for Signature Healthcare, anchored by the Signature Moms Blog, won a Silver Lamplighter Award in 2011.
  • As a content generator, I produced 3,178 tweets, 200+ blog posts, 38 articles/posts for Ragan’s Health Care Communication News, and 15 unique discussions on LinkedIn Healthcare Marketing Groups.

Now I’m ready to move on to 2012. It is going to be an amazing year.

2 comments on “My 2011 Year In Review

  1. happy new year 2012!! grand grand article for 2011!! healthcare is ours yes. I also found you and this blog from linkedin

  2. Thanks for the great post. You had a very interesting year. I hope 2012 is even better for you and yours. Remember to take better care of your health.

    Thanks
    Andy
    JE Health Care Solutions
    AJ Web Marketing

Leave a Reply

