As a prelude to Thanksgiving, I thought I’d offer up a few things for which I am grateful.

  • My family. I am far from the perfect son, husband, brother and father, and I appreciate my family putting up with me over the years – particularly Scotti and Meg. I spend too much time on my work, travel way too often and don’t have nearly enough patience.
  • My sister Kerry who has lived three years with advanced ovarian cancer and is still going strong!
  • Challenging work that I love. A long list of amazing co-workers has made it easy. Paige Zinn and Dewey Mooring top the list. I’ve had the pleasure of working with each of them for more than a decade. I believe Paige and I have worked together for 16 years, and Dewey and I have been working together for 22 years.
  • The professional opportunities I’ve been given and the help I’ve received along the way. People like Bernard Kingsley (Durham Regional Hospital), John Stokes (UNC Hospitals) and Karen McCall (UNC Hospitals) made all the difference early in my career. I am grateful for their guidance and mentorship.
  • My many friends and colleagues in healthcare. This is one of the most rewarding aspects of my career in healthcare marketing. Here are a few of my favorite people (this list is nowhere near complete and does not include clients):
  • Gabrielle DeTora
  • Linda MacCracken
  • Paul Griffith
  • Judy Neiman
  • Doug Bennett
  • Chis Bevolo
  • Jessica Levco
  • David Harlow
  • Jamie Verkamp
  • Dan Hinmon
  • Howard Luks
  • Lee Crouch
  • Jesse Stremcha
  • Michele Affronte
  • Ryan Squire
  • Chris Boyer
  • Kelly Woodsum
  • Jim Rattray
  • Richard Cohen
  • Peggy Kane
  • The many wonderful clients I have represented and the adventures we’ve had together. My appreciation goes out to each of them. To name a few of them (If I listed the actual individuals, this would be a very long list):
  • Tufts Medical Center
  • Signature Healthcare
  • University Health Systems
  • East Carolina Heart Institute
  • Southwestern Vermont Medical Center
  • Quincy Medical Center
  • Lowell General Hospital
  • Lexington Medical Center
  • Levine Cancer Institute
  • MetroWest Medical Center
  • New England Quality Care Alliance
  • Cooper University Hospital
  • UNC Health Care
  • Rex Healthcare
  • FirstHealth of the Carolinas
  • My peers, mentors and teachers within the industry. People like Kent Bottles, Lee Aase, Ed Bennett, Dana Lewis, Wendy Sue Swanson, MD, Reed Smith, and so many others.
  • Finally, I am grateful for 2012 and beyond. I’m just getting started and can’t wait to see what the future has in store for me – and for you!

Happy Thanksgiving!

4 comments on “Giving Thanks

  1. Thanks, Dan. I give thanks this week to all my friends, peers and other great people I’ve come to learn on social media. This has been a great year – full of new lessons and great ideas. And the future looks just as promising.

    It’s enough to make Peter Brady proud…:)

  2. thanks for the comment, Dan.

    Bernard

Leave a Reply

