healthcare conference marketing conference Marketing Conferences

Day Two, The Women of SHSMD & Tequila

Day two of the 2011 SHSMD Conference was a success, in large part due to the effort of the organization’s volunteer leadership and amazing staff.  I want to give a shout out to Paula Szyper, SHSMD Conference Project Director and Denise Koumiss, SHSMD Exhibit Manager. Their efforts have helped to make this a winning conference. I rarely get to speak with Paula, other than by email, but I often see her at the event, a blond blur of activity! Yesterday when I was moderating Colleen Sweeney’s session, Paula made a point of checking in with us to make sure we had everything we needed. It is the kind of thing she does hundreds of times over the three or four days of this event. Since this was my firm’s first year as an exhibitor, Denise held my hand through the process, gently nudged me each time I missed a deadline for submitting paperwork, and guided me through the process. My thanks and appreciation go out to Paula, Denise, the SHSMD Board, and everyone who worked so hard to make this conference such a vital experience.

The highlight of my day on Thursday was having dinner with a group of amazing healthcare marketers – a collection of some of the sharpest minds in the field, all women. (Okay, my colleague Bruce Wlach was with us, but that fact waters down the story.) We had dinner at La Hacienda at the Fairmont Hotel. The meal was spectacular, but the conversation was even better. The group included Linda MacCracken of Thomson Reuters, Michele Von Dambrowski – editor of Strategic Healthcare Marketing (among other publications), Brooke Tyson Hynes of Tufts Medical Center, Gabrielle DeTora of Gabrielle DeTora Consulting, and Patricia C. McCrossan of the EFK Group. If you want to meet smart, powerful women, I recommend a career in healthcare marketing and attending the annual SHSMD Conference! Having grown up with four sisters (no brothers) and an inspiring mother, I have an innate appreciation for driven, intelligent women.

I also want to mention that while we were dining at La Haceinda we met the “Tequila Goddess” Danielle Griffin. Danielle recently traveled to Mexico for extensive training in tequila. She is now one of the few individuals who earned a diploma from Mexico’s Tequila Regulatory Council (the only institution to verify and certify the compliance of Tequila with the Mexican Official Standard).  Note: The restaurant has a mind numbing selection of more than 200 tequilas!

Today will wrap up my SHSMD 2011 experience. At 9am I am attending the recording of Chris Bevolo’s Arrogant Healthcare Marketing Bastards Podcast. Can’t wait for that. Last night Chris gave me my copy of his new book: Joe Public Doesn’t Care About Your Hospital. Marketers like Chris are going to help transform healthcare marketing! I hope to be among that group of marketers leading and inciting that transformation.

Enjoy the last 24 hours of the conference!

1 comment on “Day Two, The Women of SHSMD & Tequila

  1. Dan
    What a great night and I share your feelings re the awesome group assembled! Thanks too to Linda!! Watermelon margaritas rock!! Pat!

Leave a Reply

