Social Media Trends Wow!

Take a Walk with TagWalk

(This is the final in a series of blog posts written by my intern, Stephanie Cohen. On Monday I published a special tribute to Stephanie. You can find that post at http://tinyurl.com/6392eyn. She has been a remarkable intern and has contributed frequently to this blog. Here’s one of the last posts she wrote before graduating last weekend from the University of North Carolina. )

Not long ago I wrote  a post about “Pay with a Tweet,” the first social payment system in which individuals pay for a service with the value of their social network.  Well now I’ve got something else for you: TagWalk, a Twitter-powered reputation and recommendation engine.  It wanders around Twitter and the Internet discovering noteworthy things and maps the connections between them.  And then it publishes those connections using interesting infographics. The company’s tagline is “Taking a sneaky peek into Twitter.”  Clever, right?

TagWalk provides users with statistics, related users and hashtags, words, websites, popular pictures and links.  After typing in my username to the TagWalk search box, I quickly discovered who’s talking about me and what they’re saying.  However, I did notice that the site did not provide the most up-to-date information, as it was last updated two weeks ago.  Nevertheless, it’s definitely an innovative tool that gives users an inside look at the Twitterverse in a quick snapshot.

For more, visit the TagWalk website: http://tagwalk.com. You can also visit the TagWalk blog at http://blog.tagwalk.com/. Below is the TagWalk graphic for @dandunlop.

Post by Stephanie Cohen, UNC-Chapel Hill Student and Jennings Intern

2 comments on “Take a Walk with TagWalk

  1. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your blog. It appears like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thanks

    • Hi Gilberto, I’ve checked it using a couple of different browsers and it looks to good. Let me know what you find out.
      Thanks, Dan

Leave a Reply

