rant Social Media

Twitter Habits That Irritate My Friends

Yesterday I published a post about “5 Irritating Twitter Habits.” You can check out the post at https://thehealthcaremarketer.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/5-twitter-habits-that-irritate-me/. The post caused several of my Twitter friends to offer up their own pet peeves related to how people use Twitter. So here are few of their contributions to my list of twitequette, along with some of their comments:


Dan's comment added after-the-fact due to extreme peer pressure

Irritating Twitter Habit # 5, which was referenced by many people as the most annoying, was “Automated direct messages that are sent out when you first follow someone.” These are the most irritating when they ask you to follow them on Facebook or sign up for their eNewsletter! As I said in my original post, “Can we please slow down? I didn’t ask you to go steady; I just followed you on Twitter. So stop coming on so strong.”


Post by Dan Dunlop, The Healthcare Marketer

5 comments on “Twitter Habits That Irritate My Friends

  1. Dan: Is putting the entire link in the blogpost as irritating as putting the entire link in a Tweet? 🙂
    Thanks for the list, and the additions today.
    How about tweets with so many abbreviations they’re like a foreign language. And of course there’s Twitter spam. Ugh!

    • dandunlop

      Yes it is – at least to me. But I do it occasionally in blog posts so people won’t be fearful of a “mystery” link. Thanks Dan!

  2. Now that you’ve added my tweet to your blogpost I feel so much better. Thanks for restoring my confidence!

  3. Awww… thanks for including my contribution! 🙂

    Good to see you guys together on one page!

  4. I’ll add one of my peevs- tweets that only offer a tickler and a link, with no intrinsic value themselves.

    Please put something in the tweet I can use. Maybe #5 of your top 5 ways to lose weight, or a quick summary of the findings to the article you are touting.

Leave a Reply

