Aging Wow!

About Turning 50, My Mustache, and Luddites

This is me with my father after his recent bypass surgery

How in the world did it come to this? I’m still a kid. But there’s no arguing with my Birth Certificate – I’m turning 50 today. I’m not depressed about it, but I am shocked. The last 20 years must have snuck up on me. I know it is cliche to say, but the time has gone by so fast. It is time to slow down the clock. No doubt you’ve heard of the “slow food” movement. Well, I’m advocating the start of the “slow living” movement. But when I say it that way, it sounds boring. The disconnect for me is that I actually enjoy my hectic life. The main change I am dedicated to making is to living in a more healthy way. Fitness and health need to find a way into my life. My father’s recent quadruple bypass surgery gave me a pretty clear picture of the path I do not want to take!

Of course I want to stay relevant. Until recently I thought I was doing a great job of keeping up with the times. Want evidence? First of all, I’m a Mac guy. Enough said. I’ve been blogging for four years; I’m active on both Twitter and LinkedIn; And I’ve had an iPhone for quite some time. But this week at the Healthcare Marketing Strategies Summit in Orlando, I felt like a Luddite (or is it Neo-Luddite) when it appeared to me that everyone else had iPads except me! So it is clear to me that I need to step up the pace with which I adopt new technologies! I see an iPad in my very near future.

What have I accomplished in 50 years? I don’t know if I’ve managed to turn “Dan Dunlop” into an iconic brand, but evidently I’ve developed a memorable look. Earlier this week at the HMSS 2011 conference I reintroduced myself to the editor/publisher of one of the healthcare marketing publications (Michele von Dambrowski, Strategic Health Care Marketing) and she said something I have never heard before. She said: “Oh Dan, I know you. We’ve met before. That dark curly hair and mustache are iconic. I’d know you anywhere.” Michele’s comment cracked me up! In all fairness, it is an iconic look I adopted from my father. So even if the Dan Dunlop brand still is a work in progress, I’ve at least established a graphic presentation of self that is memorable. That’s something.

Finally, I find it fascinating that my birthday falls on National Doctor’s Day, given I am a healthcare marketer. Yes, I market hospitals, physicians and physician practices, but do I have to share my birthday with them? Back in 1991 President George Bush had the bright idea of signing a proclamation making March 30 the day when our nation would “recognize the day-to-day work of healing conducted by physicians throughout the United States.” Here’s some of the language from the proclamation:

In honor of America’s physicians, the Congress, by Senate Joint Resolution 366 (Public Law 101-473), has designated March 30, 1991, as “National Doctors Day” and has authorized and requested the President to issue a proclamation in observance of this day.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GEORGE BUSH, President of the United States of America, do hereby proclaim March 30, 1991, as National Doctors Day. I encourage all Americans to observe this day with appropriate programs and activities.

So there you have it. Thanks for reading my blog. I appreciate you coming along for the ride. There’s whole lot more to come.

Post by Dan Dunlop, The Healthcare Marketer

13 comments on “About Turning 50, My Mustache, and Luddites

  1. Ryan Hildebrand

    Happy birthday to you and your mustache, Dan! P.S. Take the iPad plunge – you’ll love it.

    • dandunlop

      Thanks Ryan! Hey, will you be attending the Virginia Association’s gathering in May? I’m trying to decide whether I can fit it into my schedule. I’d love to go.

      • Ryan Hildebrand

        Still trying to decide myself. I’m leaning toward not going, but may go just to attend the MOE awards ceremony.

  2. Happy Birthday Dan! It was great seeing you in Orlando.

    • dandunlop

      Thanks Debbie. I thoroughly enjoyed the conference. Your team always does such a great job. Thanks for including me on the faculty.

  3. Happy Birthday, Dan!!

    SO … 50 is the new 30!! May be this be a healthy, happy, rewarding year for you.

    I just picked up a new iPhone, and ordered the iPad 2 from Verizon! Birthday gifts for me for your birthday??

    Enjoy the day!

    • dandunlop

      Thanks for the birthday wishes Judy! And thanks for another terrific conference. I’m excited to think what we can do in the coming year to build on the success of HMSS2011. Please call on me as a resource. I am happy to drive the social media and marketing effort. Enjoy that new iPhone. And I am so jealous of the iPad. That will be my next purchase.

  4. Dan – welcome to 50+. And I am very happy to see that your Batman t-shirt is proudly displayed! I may have to get one of those… Fred

    • dandunlop

      Thanks Fred! I am a big collector of Batman related materials. Glad to join the over 50 crowd! Take care,
      Dan

  5. Carla Bryant

    Happy Birthday Dan! Treat yourself to a shiny new iPad for your birthday – it just might take the edge off of turning 50!

    • dandunlop

      Thanks Carla! It was great seeing you at the conference. I appreciate the birthday wishes.

  6. Chris Boyer

    Happy Birthday, Dan! Now that you’re 50, you should consider getting “FitFor50” – 🙂

    Have a great one and it was awesome seeing you and palling around with you this week. You are an iconic healthcare marketer – that’s for sure!

    • dandunlop

      Thanks Chris. It was great hanging out with you at HMSS. Thanks for the kind words! See you soon.

Leave a Reply

