Life of a Marketer

A Good Week For This Healthcare Marketer

This was a really good week. In addition to handling the daily responsibilities of my job (primarily strategic marketing for hospitals), I had a few occurrences that made it even more interesting than usual. So what does a good week look like? Here are the highlights:

  • Thursday and Friday marked my team’s first official visit to Southwestern Vermont Medical Center (SVMC) as their new agency of record. SVMC is a terrific community hospital that serves southwestern Vermont and parts of New York and Massachusetts. I’m originally from Vermont and have a definite affinity for the state.
  • One of my blog posts was picked up in Ragan.com’s weekly HealthCare News  Feed which then drove an incredible amount of traffic to two of my blogs. The people at Ragan have been great about highlighting my blog posts from time to time. If you’d like to subscribe to Ragan’s HealthCare News Feed, go to http://tinyurl.com/lou4th.
  • Marianne Aiello from HealthLeaders Media interviewed me on Thursday for a story she’s doing on the new mommy blog developed by Lowell General Hospital and Floating Hospital for Children at Tufts Medical Center (Merrimack Valley Moms). I believe the story will be in the June issue of Healthcare Marketing Advisor.
  • On Wednesday Mark Shelley (Lexington Medical Center) and I led a webinar on the topic of “Green Marketing and the Healthy Hospital Movement.” This was part of a series of webinars I’m doing for the Nebraska Hospital Association on contemporary healthcare marketing issues.
  • On Friday I was interviewed by Richard Cohen, the editor of both Healthcare Marketing Report and Higher Education Marketing Report, for a story he’s doing on an advertising campaign produced by my firm. I’m currently working on ideas for a point of view piece for Higher Education Marketing Report.
  • And then on top of all that, I kicked the week off on Monday in Boston visiting great clients! What could be better than starting the week in Boston and ending the week in Vermont!  If I could figure out how to do it without catching 6am flights or sitting on the runway in Philadelphia for 5 hours during a thunderstorm (Friday night), that would be a great start! I finally ended the week, arriving home at 1:15am on Saturday.

Post by Dan Dunlop, The Healthcare Marketer

0 comments on “A Good Week For This Healthcare Marketer

Leave a comment